Arch of the Rainbow

Deeper, in the sinking sand of my journey
under the arch of the rainbow, I can see, certain
death is where there was once a pot of gold.

Uncertain of why I cannot lighten my load,
every day, every hour, every minute
life mocks me prompting me forward.

Neither old nor young, I am invisible,
beauty traded for the slippery lies of the
devil himself who gave me the cross of selfless

to bear for my lifetime. Like charcoal in water
I cannot dissolve. Squirming tightened the yoke,
saliva sealed the deal, he will wait on my blood.

-L.J. Lenehan-

Leave a Reply

