Benevolent Gesture

All my fears of yesteryear play out today
on the eve of another New Year
replays of resurrections stain my brain

what a grim day filled with pressures
of promises to make, changes that must last,
there is no newness, there is only now

of resolutions I cannot speak, I cannot know
I have no guarantees that I might be lucky enough
to survive another three hundred and sixty five

but I wish my hours to be measured in kindness
my seconds to be filled with compassion
my life to serve as a benevolent gesture

to those I know, to those I love.

-L.J. Lenehan-
millennium-dublin-fireworks-310x415

One thought on “Benevolent Gesture

  1. Pingback: Benevolent Gesture #Poetry #Goodwill | johndwmacdonald

Leave a Reply

