My Greatest Inadequacy

In the sharp angles of my doorway
a message waits for me, I stumble
in a sober way and say,
‘no thank you, not today.’

Locking the door, I contend with
larger than life features in an
empty house, a soulless place
that took everything from me.

Each wall murals unfulfilled dreams,
how unassumingly the years passed,
then one day, today, I fell fetal
underneath the staircase

shocked that everything I sold
for a piece of normality was given freely.
Dogs bark triumphantly,
the cay meows, the children bicker,

moving quickly through the house
the life I created to conceal,
my greatest inadequacy,
me.

-L.J. Lenehan-
41761599_66f8751bbe_z

Leave a Reply

