Volatile Dust

Lost in the barrenness of your love,
isolated, everything is volatile
even the dust
overwhelmed by the austerity
God decided to speak to me,
‘you may be alone – but you are enough’
words not wasted – eight where enough
curled up on a water deprived ground
blood swirling through my veins
reminding me I’m alive
I resolve to forgive God
for this unspeakable mess
I resolve to hide for a while
in this inhospitable place
because I still must learn
how to forgive,
how to forget,
how to be at peace,
how to love again.

-L.J. Lenehan-

Leave a Reply

