Just Temporary

I remember my friend’s soulful eyes,
on this dark night I can hear
his laugh, deep and raspy,
omnipresent in a cloud of smoke,
‘I don’t give a shite,’ he rumbled,
with a knowing grin
and a half cocked head
I blushed in the presence
of his knowing death
‘It’s all temporary, you know –
all temporary except for the lovely roots
that will someday compose our roofs’
he laughed, offered me a cigarette,
so insecure, I couldn’t say ‘no’
but now I know, he wouldn’t have minded,
because he knew – it is just temporary.

-L.J. Lenehan-angel man gross

Leave a Reply

