Larger Than Life

Darkness looms in a heavy rain
shadows of you are
larger than life, from lies woven
every time you opened your mouth.
My inner monologue doubted you
but words never came
because the moon lined your skin,
so I lied to myself
as flowers fell from your mouth.
Ah, but I did not fail, I indulged
in my passions, in a lover, in a life,
how was I to know –
you were only a flattering foe;
and now? Those passions
are hiding, in the world of my dreams
because they do not wish to be pursued.

-L.J. Lenehan-

lovers-wallpaper_1024x768_14348

5 thoughts on “Larger Than Life

  1. Pingback: Nostalgia For Things That Haven’t Happened Yet – Saturday Poetry | Lyrical Anarchy

  2. Pingback: Poets Sing The Winter Blues | Lyrical Anarchy

Leave a Reply

