Doves That Cannot Fly

A single strand of lavender,
devotedly, blowing in a stone garden,
built for harmony, maintained by distrust.

Full of doves, that cannot fly,
when I visit, I remember goodbyes,
tears that would not come,

irrational conversations, created by a loss
shocked into solitude, mysteriously forgetting
life before the garden.

As anonymous as a peaceful mob
the garden has no dust
because pain never settles.

-L.J. Lenehan-

Lavender Fields Forever - 2013-04-21_202613_sense-of-place.jpg

7 thoughts on “Doves That Cannot Fly

  1. Wow…looking at your tags and I saw things differently. Amazing how where your mind is determines how you perceive things. I unspoken death of a relationship…mine ; (

    • 😦 If my poem tells you about your situation then I wrote it for you… If my poem lets you know you aren’t the only one out there that is sad or going through something difficult then I wrote it for you… I suppose I was remembering when my husband was in a coma because I went to the garden I used to sit in by myself when it all got overwhelming… I am sad when I visit that garden… I don’t think I am any more clued in than I was two years ago when I used to go there frequently… But it gets better… The garden is full of marble doves – it always bothers me when I am there that we would replicate something that should always be free…

      • Hi dear your reply is also like an another beautiful poem ! We all feel like family whose members are united by feelings & rare gift of emotions given by God which provides a great support & strength in our difficult times of life.may the grace of the Almigty shower on your each step of life ! Imagine you are not at all alone, I am with you!

  2. Hi dear your reply is also like an another beautiful poem ! We all feel like family whose members are united by feelings & rare gift of emotions given by God which provides a great support & strength in our difficult times of life.may the grace of the Almigty shower on your each step of life ! Imagine you are not at all alone, I am with you!

Leave a Reply

