Private Prison

Through the windows of my own:
private prison
stunning arrangements of perfection
put in perspective, all the lives I will never live,

Days are so long,
nights never come
magnifying poor architecture
cluttered cobwebs and paper,

No one can see me
in my forever private prison
because the cleaner quit
years ago,

Snipers wait for my good days
when I might imagine
special sunshine beckoning
me to my death,

Alone in my chamber
I am comfortable
quarrels cannot ensue
I am always home

-L.J. Lenehan-

private prison1

2 thoughts on “Private Prison

Leave a Reply

