Morning Glow

Expectations of freedom
fill the air at dawn,
before light of a new day.

From underneath my duvet
the increasing glow of my window
demands my intellect’s attention.

Keenly anticipating problems
motivation is key to surviving
the next twenty four hours.

Restlessly, I arise, open the blind
to see a man cuddling an ill-fitting jacket
between the bins, sadly I wish

I lived in a place I felt safe to invite
him in for tea. I wish he lived in a place
where people felt obligated to help.

– L.J. Lenehan –

Morning

Leave a Reply

