1920’s Morning Purgatory

Driving in a heavy blue fog I may have disappeared

with no birds, no cars, no dogs a distinct absence of life

 

I wonder is this a sort of purgatory, a tree lined purgatory

filled with the world’s unanswerable tormented worries

 

I cannot be sure I am not already dead, oh what a hell

to drive forever in the shadows of a state of grace

 

The life I lived seems like nothing more than a short

vivid experience, some joy, some pain, a lot of boredom

 

Judgement, I suddenly have a sense of right and wrong

as black and white as a 1920’s morning newspaper

– L.J. Lenehan –

Photograph by: https://www.facebook.com/FrBrinksPhotography

purgatory

4 thoughts on “1920’s Morning Purgatory

Leave a Reply

