Former Me

Now, I have no preconceptions,
an image, of the former me, hangs crookedly
on the fireplace and window cill.
Each morning, I gaze at the image of the former me
and remember:

It was that specific revelation, of untruth,
that co-conspiratated my collapse.
So effortlessly, they set me up, to disappoint.
Time and time again, I tried, never knowing
I was knee deep in treachery.

Shocked by the sudden silence
of my formerly agitated soul,
I felt calm, for the first time.
A chunk of ore in a mine full of diamonds
the former me was simply over-looked.

– L.J. Lenehan –

See More

Leave a Reply

