My big empty heart,
marketed as a fool,
my life lost in despair.
I hoped for something different
to my mothers.

After years went by, I realised:
I have to be the change
I want to see in the world.
Compassion in my soul
got one more chance.

It has been a struggle,
lost my money,
lost my mind,
turned to alcohol,
that did not go well.

But, I found my key,
to life – stay soft,
in my heart, like a small child,
in awe of beauty, mystery, and
transform this story into a great novel.

– L.J. Lenehan –

The photo was captured by Gone-Hiking Photography:https://www.facebook.com/NatureThroughTheLens
2 thoughts on “

  1. I quite like this. It is concise and difficult and true. It is hard to change. But the toughest lessons are often the most worthwhile. And sometimes life takes us on painful detours to make us see and understand. Beautiful words. I can relate.

    • Thank you Andy… Yes, you are right sometimes life does take us on painful detours… Poetry is something that helps me stay on the path… I appreciate your comments and it means a lot to me that you can relate to the feelings of the poem…

Leave a Reply

