Stolen Moment

Busy, spraying and wiping tables
evening air taking over suffocating heat
conscious of sweat stains darkening my white blouse
beads of sweat glue my long skirt to my bare legs.

Preparing for the evening rush
sidewalk lights turn on
mingling with pinks and purples of the setting sun
lethargically, my gaze falls to the glow of the sidewalk light.

Stealing a moment for reverie my body starts to tingle
in the middle of my great perhaps.

The thing is – I’m sure I have done it before
in another life, my future, someone else’s past?
I’m not sure,
but somehow I know.

Broken glass
back to reality
off to find the sweeping brush.

– L.J. Lenehan –

 
Leave a Reply

