It’s Because I’m American

My seven year old daughter received an invitation for a birthday party today which had detailed instructions for her friends party including an R.S.V.P. My daughter is an inquisitive little soul and she asked me what R.S.V.P. means. I said, ‘I don’t know, respond specially to something with a v and a p.’

My husband always happy to show off how much he learned in school said, ‘Répondez s’il vous plaît, it’s French.’

My daughter said, ‘Mommy just didn’t know because they don’t teach French in America.’ I said, ‘It’s true, they don’t.’

Leave a Reply

