Accepting Strife

Pandora’s box, mocked my
Ability,
To thwart faux pas.
After all, they were on offer,
Two for the price of one.

No need to lift the lid,
She giggled at me instead.
I surpassed, the mischief,
Contained inside,
My plague, called life.

Prone to calamity,
I embraced my own obliteration,
Time and time again,
Never learning,
Of cruel deeds or judgements.

Meeting hearts without sorrow,
Left mine open to drudgery and grief.
Realizing I am one of those kind souls,
Delivering others,
From throbbing grief.

– L.J. Lenehan –

Leave a Reply

