Pitch black alley,
Floating in the distance – light.

Disorientated,
I briefly think about joy, laughter and desire;
Feelings that used to come regularly.

Emotional investment;
Left a quiet in my chest.

Yearning,
To free myself, from social pain,
Finding comfort,
In me.

Moving towards the light, with a gentle gait.
Darkness within;
Ignores my genius,
Suspending, my right,
To connect, with life.

Destined for light,
My brain decides, loneliness –
Is not solitude.

Isolation,
The Universe’s punishment –
Is merely a psychological mechanism,
Escaped from again and again.

For now – I choose to remain.
Cold bricks, wet streets, yesterday’s garbage,
Remind me, I am still here.

-L.J. Lenehan-

Leave a Reply

